Mavic Air *ALMOST* Became my Least Favorite Drone - Review

  • Published on 4 months ago

    JerryRigEverythingJerryRigEverything

    Runtime: 9:06

    DJI makes some amazing drones. The Mavic Air is no exception. Its extreme portability, its dashing good looks. BUT what is the point of all that if it doesnt fly well? Thats what we are here to find out. And my first adventure with the DJI Mavic Air did not go so well. Everything was updated, Beginner mode turned off, Flight limits set to maximum.... and nothing. It would not fly farther than 160 feet. (60 meters) Not good.
    Luckily... I tested the drone out a few days later... and everything started working again. You'll have to see the video.
    Hopefully this helped one of you. Here is the current pricing on the Mavic Air: amzn.to/2CjP9YM
    Ill keep playing around with the Mavic Air, But in the meantime check out Dan's channel where we destroyed a car! usfilms.net/v-video-MTafF2X32Js.html (And of course he used the footage from our flight around the windmills.)
    Awesome Smartphone Tool Kit: amzn.to/2idLGDi
    LARGER tool kit: amzn.to/2DURcr7
    Green Pry tool: amzn.to/1Tu57pI
    Metal phone opening tool: amzn.to/1WdOFv0
    The camera I used to film this video: amzn.to/2p7GtkX
    Wide angle lens: amzn.to/2qiYM4u
    *Follow me for updates!*
    Instagram: instagram.com/zacksjerryrig
    Facebook: on.fb.me/1U4bQqv
    Twitter: twitter.com/ZacksJerryRig
    Snapchat: bit.ly/1UAb2Fq
    GooglePlus: bit.ly/1YyKice
    TO SEND ME STUFF: See my P.0. Box on my 'About page': usfilms.net/us/JerryRigEverythingabout
    JerryRigEverything assumes no liability for property damage or injury incurred as a result of any of the information contained in this video. JerryRigEverything recommends safe practices when working with power tools, automotive lifts, lifting tools, jack stands, electrical equipment, blunt instruments, chemicals, lubricants, expensive electronics, or any other tools or equipment seen or implied in this video. Due to factors beyond the control of JerryRigEverything, no information contained in this video shall create any express or implied warranty or guarantee of any particular result. Any injury, damage or loss that may result from improper use of these tools, equipment, or the information contained in this video is the sole responsibility of the user and not JerryRigEverything. Only attempt your own repairs if you can accept personal responsibility for the results, whether they are good or bad.

    Mavic Air  DJI Mavic Air  DJI  Drone  Drone fail  Worst drone  Best drone  Quad copter  Mavic pro  Mavic Platinum  Windmill  turbine  drone turbine  Alternative energy  Mavic  Folding drone  small drone  4k drone  

JerryRigEverything
JerryRigEverything

Go tell WhatsInside you came for the windmill! https://youtu.be/MTafF2X32Js (Warning: We destroy something big...)

4 months ago
Ben619
Ben619

The drone was in beginner mode and that limits the range

Month ago
sum.
sum.

JerryRigEverything about fossil fuel made out of organic material is all just a lie te oil company made up, its got nothing todo with fossil what so ever, and it is renewable “mind blown” when i first knew about it, yet it is “dirty energy source.

3 months ago
Robbie Backpacking
Robbie Backpacking

I totally agree oil is an industry of the past and renewables are the technology of the future. Another great video!

3 months ago
Garrett Ray
Garrett Ray

Nice Ducati

Day ago
Erwin Meulman
Erwin Meulman

Conclusion; manufacturer has full control with software, you paid for a machine that is in control by the manufacturer. Can you make a video in 2019 and show us that it's flying, fingers crossed.

Day ago
Sarvesh Patil
Sarvesh Patil

Sir please give me a drone

4 days ago
Natan Facchin
Natan Facchin

That bike shot, tho! Amazing!

10 days ago
McCracken TV
McCracken TV

Hey, great video. Apart from the drone footage shots, I was wondering what camera you shoot your videos on especially near the end when you are testing the drone out for the second time on the blue sky. Your videos are so clear and I'm looking for a good camera. Thanks, Tim.

15 days ago
QaaUz
QaaUz

That distance limit was an issue I had a week ago - very frustrating. I had also all updated. Un and re installed DJI GO app and it worked fine. It also decides to land sometimes - ja, tek does NOT always function according to immediate rationale. Thx4the vid. My environment is forest with a P3P. Akward lol I'm looking at the Mavic Air but concerned with the issue of transmission. Basically there are - trees, or - above. Trees is branches, twigs leaves and interference . A stable connection is needed to see where one's going and avoid crazy self destruct rth. There's nothing much to do above the trees) :-) What do you know about this?

23 days ago
Craig Ingarfill
Craig Ingarfill

Are you planning on doing a teardown of the Air?

24 days ago
Nate Films
Nate Films

Casually mentions that he's making a video with Bill Gates....

27 days ago
wayne meinhard
wayne meinhard

My Air out-performs my P3P in the ​video feed and flight distance hands down!

29 days ago
Ian Rice
Ian Rice

Really cool videos. Unfortunately I know exactly what you mean. My phantom 3 se does this distance limit thing and I have all the settings to go much further then that. There's always bugs when these drones are connected to a cell phone. Drones I had without cell phone connectivity n just 5.8ghz not Wi-Fi never had an issue like that. Dji needs to fix this stuff!!!

Month ago
Andrew christensen
Andrew christensen

Did you registere it with the ffa before your flight?

Month ago
Kuz Si
Kuz Si

you obviously dont look at the setting in the mavic air to know it will go kilometers away from you.

Month ago
Harrison Schowengerdt
Harrison Schowengerdt

careful flying near windmills. that is class D airspace and is technically illegal to fly in without permission.

Month ago
Seann Mac
Seann Mac

Dude. First of all take the training guards

Month ago
GoAttack!
GoAttack!

the Mavic pro limited me too the first flight even with the beginner mode off. Will probably fly further on the second+

Month ago
Julian Stockmeier
Julian Stockmeier

In Germany is a law for drones that doesn‘t allows you to fly nearby Power generation plants. (Solar, Windturbines) I don‘t know If there is a similar law in the US 😁

Month ago
Maula Sefu
Maula Sefu

You didn't ask to Subscribe... but i did anyway

Month ago
Raptorvip
Raptorvip

don't know if anyone said anything but in the first part of the video you had the antennas facing each other and at the end you had them facing straight up neither of which are correct :o

Month ago
Back From The Sky
Back From The Sky

Did you restart after update?? Have fun, good luck.

Month ago
Back From The Sky
Back From The Sky

Probably not a good idea to place the drones on the hood of the car to take off.

Month ago
phreakii
phreakii

It worked awesome with iJustine..

Month ago
Ender tux
Ender tux

Mavic Spark?

Month ago
Gav G
Gav G

The props rotate over the body of the drone on the Air? I know nothing about drones, but that configuration does not sound logical to me?

2 months ago
George Powell
George Powell

What was the song used at the windmills

2 months ago
François Luneau
François Luneau

FYI, I got caught by that too, but the firmware updates are applied to the smart batteries. This could have misled you (as it did me) thinking the drone was updated already, when in fact you had updated another smart battery.

2 months ago
Zágoni Mátyás
Zágoni Mátyás

You couldnt fly further because Beginner Mode was enabled.

2 months ago
robert krondorfer
robert krondorfer

So, the user is making user errors. And therefore the product is flawed. :D And suddenly,t the software works. If he was a DJI user and used all of the DJI drones "ever". He should know that the software can be easily overwritten with noname software. :D

2 months ago
robert krondorfer
robert krondorfer

wind is great when there is wind. Not too much though, but just right. If there's too much they need to shut down. If there's too little they wont spin. We're talking JUST right.

2 months ago
Ayaan Ayaan Rishmy
Ayaan Ayaan Rishmy

He said mavic spark 😂😂😂😂😂

2 months ago
Liran Sitbon
Liran Sitbon

Great Channel. Good things about the fron. From Israel👍

2 months ago
Jason Galloway
Jason Galloway

'Oil is a thing of the past' he says, as he lays his drones on the bonnet of his gas guzzler lol

2 months ago
steven hill
steven hill

Spanish Fork Canyon!!

2 months ago
Karma1
Karma1

I came here for the mindwill :D not really

2 months ago
islandboystv
islandboystv

I was pre warned to make sure I update the drone before flying it because of the locked feature on the drone

2 months ago
John Lemieux
John Lemieux

What’s a mavic spark?

2 months ago
Sam Day
Sam Day

The mavic air is like the Model 3 drone

2 months ago
Jeff Gibbon
Jeff Gibbon

Great review of the two drones, if I am not mistaken the tips of one of those windmills can reach upwards of 270 mph and the big concern is bird strikes and the number of birds that are killed by the blades. especially the ones that are on the protected and endangered list. Did you ever get it to operate in normal mode?

2 months ago
Hare Krishna in the Movies
Hare Krishna in the Movies

With my Autel X-Star Premium, there's no such thing as WiFi, passwords, or instruction booklets with print too small to read! Also, the X-Star works just fine without a "device" (iPhone, tablet, etc). When is DJI going to wake up and stop making their drones so complicated?

2 months ago
R McNasty
R McNasty

Why didn't u get closer to wind mills, are there any reviews that go off without a hitch. On YouTube. DJI IS MARKETING THE DRONES, JUST LIKE THEY INTRODUCED THE 8 TRACK, THEN TO CASSET ,THEN TO MINI CASSET, THEN CD. WERE BEING PLAYED.

2 months ago
Rayyan malik
Rayyan malik

More drop test videos!

2 months ago
Scenes in the Sky
Scenes in the Sky

I'm getting this baby in a few months after I graduate and get money to purchase this! So exited!

2 months ago
M D P
M D P

18 megawatts is not alot. the cost for the electricity is 10 times more than a gas plant. do the math

2 months ago
Nicholas Ho
Nicholas Ho

Maybe the GPS amount not enough?

2 months ago
Leo Velez
Leo Velez

The range sucks I returned mine

2 months ago
Oscar Perez
Oscar Perez

I'm think the reason why the mavic air wouldnt fly far the first time is because you had it on top of the truck and metal really messes up the calibration. Metal messes up the magnets that calibrate the drone.

2 months ago
Fabulous Sport Outdoors
Fabulous Sport Outdoors

Pleased to see I took the right decision and got the Mavic Pro instead.. although the Mavic Air was out. The Pro looks and feels more solidly built.. but that's maybe just my point of view.. or you agree too?! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 👍

3 months ago
nick castle
nick castle

Taking off from a hood not ground level and metal not a good idea

3 months ago
Tyler Ferre
Tyler Ferre

Live about 2 minutes from here.

3 months ago
Leesa Drone
Leesa Drone

Knows what he’s doing, then takes off from a giant piece of metal😬

3 months ago
Morten la Cour Dragheim
Morten la Cour Dragheim

Super sweet video! Your sound quality is amazing!

3 months ago
busayo bolanle-ojo
busayo bolanle-ojo

Wow

3 months ago
busayo bolanle-ojo
busayo bolanle-ojo

Great drone

3 months ago
ipaco DeZa
ipaco DeZa

Take off the prop guards, thats the speed and distance limitation

3 months ago
MegaTechpc
MegaTechpc

I don't mind wind turbines myself, but they just don't provide much power generation for the huge amount of land they take up. Its kind of the same problem with all of these supposedly renewable energy sources (wind, water, solar). They just don't come anywhere close to being able to meet our energy needs.

3 months ago
Dominic DiTanna
Dominic DiTanna

I have a mavic air also and I had a simliar issue with the drone when there was another drone flying nearby mine. As soon as the other drone was gone, the drone worked perfectly.

3 months ago
selcuk fındık
selcuk fındık

I have f550 and i modified it to s550. Its perfect...heavy bu reliable with naza v2 and old style gimbal h3 3d...I recently fly my friend spark and its a total disaster...As far as I understand if i considered to buy mavic air i will regret to buy...

3 months ago
Andrea Rossi
Andrea Rossi

Ducati Monster!:)

3 months ago
Arkadius
Arkadius

Zack, what bike is that.... looks awesome

3 months ago
nicholasskyhigh
nicholasskyhigh

this is in utah. i wanna say provo but im not sure. i remember seeing the windmills in the moonlight so im not sure if these are those i saw

3 months ago
MobileDecay
MobileDecay

How does it fair in the bend test? O.o

3 months ago
Gory Glory
Gory Glory

No those act as antenna and landing gear too.

3 months ago
Ro Al
Ro Al

“We are in a safe location” they’re standing next to a train track

3 months ago
Sanish Chukkath
Sanish Chukkath

i came here for the windmill

3 months ago
Nate White
Nate White

Where are you both located? Lots of your shots look like Washington State but I'm not positive.

3 months ago
Loft54
Loft54

DJi is getting to big and messing up!

3 months ago
Droning about NW
Droning about NW

Thankd for taking that initial hit on the learning curve for us that waited a few weeks to order. Love my Mavic Air so far. Videos are clean and stable.

3 months ago
Alejandro Sibaja
Alejandro Sibaja

The same thing happened to me, but with my Phantom 3 pro. I went to Mexico city and got to fly only 200 ft around me, it was very frustrating. Ended up finding out that you need to uninstall and re-install the Dji app on your phone and it worked like a charm.

3 months ago
Victor Martin
Victor Martin

The mavic pro platinum antennas are facing the wrong direction. Let him know....

3 months ago
James Over 49
James Over 49

.... and he disabled the comments :(

3 months ago
jurpker
jurpker

Does it have a fingerprint scanner?

3 months ago
saya saya
saya saya

I will buy a drone soon. and I choose mavic pro.. cannot go wrong with that.

3 months ago
John Doyle
John Doyle

Not a good idea to launch from the bonnet/hood of a car, it affects the compass calibration. But good video and informative and entertaining.

3 months ago
felicianoabe
felicianoabe

Noob

3 months ago
Lon Denard
Lon Denard

How about a review of drones without the sermon?

3 months ago
California Phantom
California Phantom

Looks like your antenna are straight out. They should be at 90 degrees like Mavic Pro right?

3 months ago
Herr Leeker
Herr Leeker

Take the fucking guards off it man. They are for stupid indoor toys flown by kids and morons.

3 months ago
Phong HO
Phong HO

with those wing protectors they create SO MUCH AIR TURBULENCE, remove them and you will be fine

3 months ago
Eden Roth
Eden Roth

You look like Agent 47 in Hitman

3 months ago
Willie Gonzales
Willie Gonzales

Windmills or not your outside in wind like that you shouldn't be using the blade guards because that's just asking for more turbulence on the Mavic air remember its small. Yes it will fly better without guards. But it will always be dicey because of its size but with those blade guards its catching all that wind and trying to counter the extra weight and bigger diameter from the guards. I would only use those guards for indoor use or if your in a smaller proximity for lets say a bunch of parked cars. Oh and make sure your sensor avoidance is set to avoid and not return to home. So when you use one of your smart features it will avoid an obstacle instead of returning to home and say your under a tree well we all know what happens when RTH mode kicks in it will climb as specified and that would suck.I believe Obstacle avoidance sensor default is RTH lol Cheers

3 months ago
Bob Brown
Bob Brown

You took off from the hood of your car. That would have screwed with the compass leaving your drone in ATTI. These drones don't fly well unless they get full GPS lock first.

3 months ago
Marvin Jackson
Marvin Jackson

Thanks for not being a DJI fanboy! I have two DJI drones... the Phantom 4 Pro and Mavic Pro; both are great. I purchased the Mavic Air and was extremely disappointed. I lost connectivity after 100 yds and the noise levels in the shadows made the video unusable. I returned it. I was so hoping is would be a dream drone.

3 months ago
Molecular Level
Molecular Level

I think the reason why it was wobbling around was probably because you didn't enable to "prop guard" under the settings.

3 months ago
tinyentropy
tinyentropy

What’s the quality of the red plastic? Does it look cheap? How about fingerprints and scratches?

3 months ago
Cess Outdoors
Cess Outdoors

Those red legs on the front they are antennas, do not forget to pull them down.

3 months ago
enzo huenchupan
enzo huenchupan

Hi Jerry, (I do not speak English very well so apologize in advance if I'm wrong(i'm using they Google traductor and muy knowledge oficina inglish)) I would like you to prove the veracity of liquid tempered glass protectors because your tests are the most "scientific". Greetings from Argentina Bariloche In spanish: hola Jerry me gustaría que probarlas la veracidad de los protectores de cristal templado liquidos ya que tus test's son los más "científicos". Saludos desde Argentina Bariloche Extra: Sería genial un test como el del "zaphire glass screen protector"( el cual resultó ser medio fake) thanks

3 months ago
meesternadim
meesternadim

destory

3 months ago
Randy Kennedy
Randy Kennedy

What bike do you ride?

3 months ago
TheLifeOnHigh
TheLifeOnHigh

Wait what? The Mavic Air has flight limitations built in? Total deal breaker if this isn’t fixed.

3 months ago
outsidergua
outsidergua

Dan disabled the comments on his video. We can't leave the comment "I came here for the windmills" :(

3 months ago
Prestige Clash
Prestige Clash

They never make their money back. wind power is for chumps. and when the wind isnt blowing and the sun inst shining you are burning fossil fuels anyway.

3 months ago
HYDROPHILIK
HYDROPHILIK

Nice! We just posted a video of a surfer falling on a SHARK that we captured with our Mavic Air!!

3 months ago
Johnathan Sams
Johnathan Sams

Lol renewable energy is clearly a liberal plot for world domination duh

3 months ago
droneXfactor
droneXfactor

I'm also a big fan of clean renewable energy :)

3 months ago
droneXfactor
droneXfactor

I would ditch the indoor prop guards, you should get even further & longer Battery Life :)

3 months ago
droneXfactor
droneXfactor

Cool Videos...... just found you :)

3 months ago
TechSmart
TechSmart

Try using an OTG cable

3 months ago
Carter and Kieran
Carter and Kieran

I was just at those wind meels

3 months ago
Ryan Kerr
Ryan Kerr

You need to point your antennas directly upwards dude. Literally 90 degrees if you want maximum range.

3 months ago
henry kiss
henry kiss

so the wind is no more a problem whit the air????

3 months ago

Next videos