Mavic Air *ALMOST* Became my Least Favorite Drone - Review

  • Published on 8 months ago

    JerryRigEverythingJerryRigEverything

    Runtime: 9:06

    DJI makes some amazing drones. The Mavic Air is no exception. Its extreme portability, its dashing good looks. BUT what is the point of all that if it doesnt fly well? Thats what we are here to find out. And my first adventure with the DJI Mavic Air did not go so well. Everything was updated, Beginner mode turned off, Flight limits set to maximum.... and nothing. It would not fly farther than 160 feet. (60 meters) Not good.
    Luckily... I tested the drone out a few days later... and everything started working again. You'll have to see the video.
    Hopefully this helped one of you. Here is the current pricing on the Mavic Air: amzn.to/2CjP9YM
    Ill keep playing around with the Mavic Air, But in the meantime check out Dan's channel where we destroyed a car! usfilms.net/v-video-MTafF2X32Js.html (And of course he used the footage from our flight around the windmills.)
    Awesome Smartphone Tool Kit: amzn.to/2idLGDi
    LARGER tool kit: amzn.to/2DURcr7
    Green Pry tool: amzn.to/1Tu57pI
    Metal phone opening tool: amzn.to/1WdOFv0
    The camera I used to film this video: amzn.to/2p7GtkX
    Wide angle lens: amzn.to/2qiYM4u
    *Follow me for updates!*
    Instagram: instagram.com/zacksjerryrig
    Facebook: on.fb.me/1U4bQqv
    Twitter: twitter.com/ZacksJerryRig
    Snapchat: bit.ly/1UAb2Fq
    GooglePlus: bit.ly/1YyKice
    TO SEND ME STUFF: See my P.0. Box on my 'About page': usfilms.net/us/JerryRigEverythingabout
    JerryRigEverything assumes no liability for property damage or injury incurred as a result of any of the information contained in this video. JerryRigEverything recommends safe practices when working with power tools, automotive lifts, lifting tools, jack stands, electrical equipment, blunt instruments, chemicals, lubricants, expensive electronics, or any other tools or equipment seen or implied in this video. Due to factors beyond the control of JerryRigEverything, no information contained in this video shall create any express or implied warranty or guarantee of any particular result. Any injury, damage or loss that may result from improper use of these tools, equipment, or the information contained in this video is the sole responsibility of the user and not JerryRigEverything. Only attempt your own repairs if you can accept personal responsibility for the results, whether they are good or bad.

    Mavic Air  DJI Mavic Air  DJI  Drone  Drone fail  Worst drone  Best drone  Quad copter  Mavic pro  Mavic Platinum  Windmill  turbine  drone turbine  Alternative energy  Mavic  Folding drone  small drone  4k drone  

JerryRigEverything
JerryRigEverything

Go tell WhatsInside you came for the windmill! https://youtu.be/MTafF2X32Js (Warning: We destroy something big...)

8 months ago
so steve
so steve

Updates are important check

Month ago
so steve
so steve

Awesome drone

Month ago
Ben619
Ben619

The drone was in beginner mode and that limits the range

5 months ago
sum.
sum.

JerryRigEverything about fossil fuel made out of organic material is all just a lie te oil company made up, its got nothing todo with fossil what so ever, and it is renewable “mind blown” when i first knew about it, yet it is “dirty energy source.

7 months ago
Loga Deepan
Loga Deepan

4.05 mavic spark controller Nice

4 days ago
Reverse Studios
Reverse Studios

4:05 "Mavic" Spark controller really!!???

11 days ago
M V
M V

04:37 "we're going to be careful, we're going to be safe we are in a safe location" stands right next to a freaking railroad track....

12 days ago
A- DeeDee
A- DeeDee

I just want to see those bulging biceps! You are yummy!

14 days ago
Kiean Sherman
Kiean Sherman

Did you film this in Spanish Fork Utah?

27 days ago
Mac McRae
Mac McRae

looks like a wireless router with propellers

28 days ago
loadthebowl
loadthebowl

Only pussies use prop guards

Month ago
InTheNameOfJustice
InTheNameOfJustice

Could have done without the fucking propaganda but other than that, nice.

Month ago
RWE870
RWE870

Became my least favorite in 5 min.

Month ago
Luigi Villejo
Luigi Villejo

4:05 "Mavic Spark"

Month ago
xCake
xCake

Nononono the back legs first, then the front legs.

Month ago
Technical guider Abdullah
Technical guider Abdullah

4:05 mavic spark hahaha

Month ago
SAM ALLEN
SAM ALLEN

THE WHAT? 4:05

Month ago
Dolle Dries
Dolle Dries

It is not a windmill. It is an Air turbine. A windmill is a building that refines different sorts of grains. Just annoying.

Month ago
Sylvester Sanchez
Sylvester Sanchez

That Ducati!

Month ago
floex831
floex831

Completely operator error

2 months ago
Scott
Scott

omg i hate when people that doesnt even get the antenas right review drones

2 months ago
Craig Davidson
Craig Davidson

Are you agent 47?

2 months ago
Malicesin
Malicesin

You have to disable beginner mode

2 months ago
batchboy999
batchboy999

I like the motorcycle shot at the end and how the Air was avoiding lite poles, wish you did more of that kind of "stuff", lol, thanks! Hope to get one in 2019.

2 months ago
Hi Hai
Hi Hai

This video is simply stunning.

2 months ago
Bobster986
Bobster986

These ones are not? It’s...these are not, good English. LOL

2 months ago
ALLGames&Tech
ALLGames&Tech

Yeah the drone always give me issues to at time it did that to me the other day dji does a poor job! It was with my spark maybe the Mavic air is the same as the spark in a different body!

2 months ago
Jhoed Ph
Jhoed Ph

I wish i have that drone.😭Can't afford.😭I think i have that only in my dreams.😭

2 months ago
A B
A B

I just clicked to see if this is Bas Rutten

2 months ago
Joe Framer
Joe Framer

Another liberal......

2 months ago
John Myers
John Myers

Please make merch the that says “just for kicks and giggles”

2 months ago
Ivo Velkov
Ivo Velkov

stupid

3 months ago
Vold
Vold

Take off the prop gaurds it adds atleast 28mph i have one

3 months ago
4,999,999 Subscribers
4,999,999 Subscribers

Also, the mavic pro has RC Mode option. I believe the mavic air is WiFi like the spark. I don't like the WiFi feature, the connection can be poor.

3 months ago
desertsidewinder
desertsidewinder

Every wind turbine take a huge amount of concrete, iron, aluminum and other metals some of them rare earth. They are rarely profitable unless you manage to run the electricity price up, which is what renewable has done in Denmark and Germany (to 3 times the price in Sweden). They may be sweet looking in ones or twos, but when they are all over the place they mean serious pollution, often in unspoilt nature. And when the wind farms go bankrupt, there'll be a whole lot of cleaning up to do. There are better ways to replace fossil. But that was an aside. Think I will buy that Mavic Air now, the red one

3 months ago
Deans n LiPo
Deans n LiPo

It comes with a charge. You have to fully charge it before your first flight.

3 months ago
Khairul Amri
Khairul Amri

Read the manual 1st

3 months ago
Jawad Shah
Jawad Shah

Hitman plus a mavic air ! All bad guys are dead

3 months ago
Garrett Ray
Garrett Ray

Nice Ducati

4 months ago
Erwin Meulman
Erwin Meulman

Conclusion; manufacturer has full control with software, you paid for a machine that is in control by the manufacturer. Can you make a video in 2019 and show us that it's flying, fingers crossed.

4 months ago
Sarvesh Patil
Sarvesh Patil

Sir please give me a drone

4 months ago
Natan Facchin
Natan Facchin

That bike shot, tho! Amazing!

4 months ago
McCracken Media
McCracken Media

Hey, great video. Apart from the drone footage shots, I was wondering what camera you shoot your videos on especially near the end when you are testing the drone out for the second time on the blue sky. Your videos are so clear and I'm looking for a good camera. Thanks, Tim.

4 months ago
QaaUz
QaaUz

That distance limit was an issue I had a week ago - very frustrating. I had also all updated. Un and re installed DJI GO app and it worked fine. It also decides to land sometimes - ja, tek does NOT always function according to immediate rationale. Thx4the vid. My environment is forest with a P3P. Akward lol I'm looking at the Mavic Air but concerned with the issue of transmission. Basically there are - trees, or - above. Trees is branches, twigs leaves and interference . A stable connection is needed to see where one's going and avoid crazy self destruct rth. There's nothing much to do above the trees) :-) What do you know about this?

4 months ago
Craig Ingarfill
Craig Ingarfill

Are you planning on doing a teardown of the Air?

4 months ago
Nate Films
Nate Films

Casually mentions that he's making a video with Bill Gates....

4 months ago
wayne meinhard
wayne meinhard

My Air out-performs my P3P in the ​video feed and flight distance hands down!

4 months ago
Ian Rice
Ian Rice

Really cool videos. Unfortunately I know exactly what you mean. My phantom 3 se does this distance limit thing and I have all the settings to go much further then that. There's always bugs when these drones are connected to a cell phone. Drones I had without cell phone connectivity n just 5.8ghz not Wi-Fi never had an issue like that. Dji needs to fix this stuff!!!

5 months ago
Andrew christensen
Andrew christensen

Did you registere it with the ffa before your flight?

5 months ago
Kuz Si
Kuz Si

you obviously dont look at the setting in the mavic air to know it will go kilometers away from you.

5 months ago
Harrison Schowengerdt
Harrison Schowengerdt

careful flying near windmills. that is class D airspace and is technically illegal to fly in without permission.

5 months ago
Seann Mac
Seann Mac

Dude. First of all take the training guards

5 months ago
Julian Stockmeier
Julian Stockmeier

In Germany is a law for drones that doesn‘t allows you to fly nearby Power generation plants. (Solar, Windturbines) I don‘t know If there is a similar law in the US 😁

5 months ago
Maula Sefu
Maula Sefu

You didn't ask to Subscribe... but i did anyway

5 months ago
Raptorvip
Raptorvip

don't know if anyone said anything but in the first part of the video you had the antennas facing each other and at the end you had them facing straight up neither of which are correct :o

5 months ago
Back From The Sky
Back From The Sky

Did you restart after update?? Have fun, good luck.

5 months ago
Back From The Sky
Back From The Sky

Probably not a good idea to place the drones on the hood of the car to take off.

5 months ago
phreakii
phreakii

It worked awesome with iJustine..

5 months ago
Ender tux
Ender tux

Mavic Spark?

6 months ago
Gav G
Gav G

The props rotate over the body of the drone on the Air? I know nothing about drones, but that configuration does not sound logical to me?

6 months ago
George Powell
George Powell

What was the song used at the windmills

6 months ago
François Luneau
François Luneau

FYI, I got caught by that too, but the firmware updates are applied to the smart batteries. This could have misled you (as it did me) thinking the drone was updated already, when in fact you had updated another smart battery.

6 months ago
Zágoni Mátyás
Zágoni Mátyás

You couldnt fly further because Beginner Mode was enabled.

6 months ago
robert krondorfer
robert krondorfer

So, the user is making user errors. And therefore the product is flawed. :D And suddenly,t the software works. If he was a DJI user and used all of the DJI drones "ever". He should know that the software can be easily overwritten with noname software. :D

6 months ago
robert krondorfer
robert krondorfer

wind is great when there is wind. Not too much though, but just right. If there's too much they need to shut down. If there's too little they wont spin. We're talking JUST right.

6 months ago
Ayaan Ayaan Rishmy
Ayaan Ayaan Rishmy

He said mavic spark 😂😂😂😂😂

6 months ago
Liran Sitbon
Liran Sitbon

Great Channel. Good things about the fron. From Israel👍

6 months ago
Jason Galloway
Jason Galloway

'Oil is a thing of the past' he says, as he lays his drones on the bonnet of his gas guzzler lol

6 months ago
steven hill
steven hill

Spanish Fork Canyon!!

6 months ago
KARMA1 PRODUCTIONS
KARMA1 PRODUCTIONS

I came here for the mindwill :D not really

6 months ago
islandboystv
islandboystv

I was pre warned to make sure I update the drone before flying it because of the locked feature on the drone

6 months ago
John Lemieux
John Lemieux

What’s a mavic spark?

6 months ago
Sam Day
Sam Day

The mavic air is like the Model 3 drone

6 months ago
Jeff Gibbon
Jeff Gibbon

Great review of the two drones, if I am not mistaken the tips of one of those windmills can reach upwards of 270 mph and the big concern is bird strikes and the number of birds that are killed by the blades. especially the ones that are on the protected and endangered list. Did you ever get it to operate in normal mode?

6 months ago
Hare Krishna in the Movies
Hare Krishna in the Movies

With my Autel X-Star Premium, there's no such thing as WiFi, passwords, or instruction booklets with print too small to read! Also, the X-Star works just fine without a "device" (iPhone, tablet, etc). When is DJI going to wake up and stop making their drones so complicated?

6 months ago
R McNasty
R McNasty

Why didn't u get closer to wind mills, are there any reviews that go off without a hitch. On YouTube. DJI IS MARKETING THE DRONES, JUST LIKE THEY INTRODUCED THE 8 TRACK, THEN TO CASSET ,THEN TO MINI CASSET, THEN CD. WERE BEING PLAYED.

6 months ago
Rayyan malik
Rayyan malik

More drop test videos!

6 months ago
Scenes in the Sky
Scenes in the Sky

I'm getting this baby in a few months after I graduate and get money to purchase this! So exited!

6 months ago
M D P
M D P

18 megawatts is not alot. the cost for the electricity is 10 times more than a gas plant. do the math

6 months ago
Nicholas Ho
Nicholas Ho

Maybe the GPS amount not enough?

6 months ago
Cookie Vice
Cookie Vice

The range sucks I returned mine

7 months ago
Oscar Perez
Oscar Perez

I'm think the reason why the mavic air wouldnt fly far the first time is because you had it on top of the truck and metal really messes up the calibration. Metal messes up the magnets that calibrate the drone.

7 months ago
Fabulous Sport Outdoors Photography
Fabulous Sport Outdoors Photography

Pleased to see I took the right decision and got the Mavic Pro instead.. although the Mavic Air was out. The Pro looks and feels more solidly built.. but that's maybe just my point of view.. or you agree too?! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 👍

7 months ago
nick castle
nick castle

Taking off from a hood not ground level and metal not a good idea

7 months ago
Tyler Ferre
Tyler Ferre

Live about 2 minutes from here.

7 months ago
Leesa Drone
Leesa Drone

Knows what he’s doing, then takes off from a giant piece of metal😬

7 months ago
Morten la Cour Dragheim
Morten la Cour Dragheim

Super sweet video! Your sound quality is amazing!

7 months ago
busayo bolanle-ojo
busayo bolanle-ojo

Wow

7 months ago
busayo bolanle-ojo
busayo bolanle-ojo

Great drone

7 months ago
ipaco DeZa
ipaco DeZa

Take off the prop guards, thats the speed and distance limitation

7 months ago
MegaTechpc
MegaTechpc

I don't mind wind turbines myself, but they just don't provide much power generation for the huge amount of land they take up. Its kind of the same problem with all of these supposedly renewable energy sources (wind, water, solar). They just don't come anywhere close to being able to meet our energy needs.

7 months ago
Dominic DiTanna
Dominic DiTanna

I have a mavic air also and I had a simliar issue with the drone when there was another drone flying nearby mine. As soon as the other drone was gone, the drone worked perfectly.

7 months ago
selcuk fındık
selcuk fındık

I have f550 and i modified it to s550. Its perfect...heavy bu reliable with naza v2 and old style gimbal h3 3d...I recently fly my friend spark and its a total disaster...As far as I understand if i considered to buy mavic air i will regret to buy...

7 months ago
Andrea Rossi
Andrea Rossi

Ducati Monster!:)

7 months ago
Arkadius
Arkadius

Zack, what bike is that.... looks awesome

7 months ago
nicholasskyhigh
nicholasskyhigh

this is in utah. i wanna say provo but im not sure. i remember seeing the windmills in the moonlight so im not sure if these are those i saw

7 months ago
MobileDecay
MobileDecay

How does it fair in the bend test? O.o

7 months ago
Gory Glory
Gory Glory

No those act as antenna and landing gear too.

7 months ago
Ro Al
Ro Al

“We are in a safe location” they’re standing next to a train track

7 months ago
Sanish Chukkath
Sanish Chukkath

i came here for the windmill

7 months ago
Nate White
Nate White

Where are you both located? Lots of your shots look like Washington State but I'm not positive.

7 months ago
Loft54
Loft54

DJi is getting to big and messing up!

7 months ago
Droning about NW
Droning about NW

Thankd for taking that initial hit on the learning curve for us that waited a few weeks to order. Love my Mavic Air so far. Videos are clean and stable.

7 months ago

Next videos