Camera Gimbals - how good are they? Review of the Zhiyun Crane & Smooth Q

  • Published on Year ago

    DIY PerksDIY Perks

    Runtime: 5:16

    In this video I take a look at two of the best camera stabilizers available - one for smartphones, and the other for full sized cameras.
    ↓↓↓ LINKS BELOW↓↓↓

    Zhiyun Smooth Q (for smartphones): amzn.to/2yu2pcc
    Zhiyun Crane (for larger cameras): amzn.to/2zzm0v7
    UK Buyers: cvp.com/index.php?t=product/zhiyun-tech_crane-gimbal
    No idea how to pronounce the brand name properly by the way... some say Zi-on, others say Zin-yun, and still others say Schzi-un. Not very good for brand recognition if no one knows how to pronounce it.

    Disclosure: The Zhiyun Crane was sent to me by Gear Best (thanks guys!) and the Zhiyun Smooth Q was sent to me directly by the manufacturer (Zhiyun). Not uncommon for reviewers to have free 'review samples' and I didn't let it alter my opinions.

    camera  gimbal  zhiyun  crane  smooth q  stabilizer  smartphone  dslr  lens  steadicam  

vanillakitty
vanillakitty

Hello my new favorite YouTuber. xo

2 days ago
Nashwa Mohamed
Nashwa Mohamed

Thanks

3 days ago
Jamyjhamz D
Jamyjhamz D

What camera did you use for this video? It’s so clear and very colorful.. thanks for the reply whenever you see it😁

5 days ago
Edgard Ferrdim
Edgard Ferrdim

this is called "Magic is true"

11 days ago
Sisters Need
Sisters Need

Your accent 😍

14 days ago
Gaming Buddy
Gaming Buddy

This video was so smooth!

14 days ago
shitpostistan tv
shitpostistan tv

If I had your voice and English accent, I would never shut up. Great review.

20 days ago
Bali Tradition
Bali Tradition

Need this gimbals for my channel bali tradition....

20 days ago
Marcelo Maia
Marcelo Maia

What camera and lenses do you use?

27 days ago
the CG nerd
the CG nerd

I'm the kind of person who would let go of this thinking it's going to stay in the air.

27 days ago
Mrzenngt
Mrzenngt

Man those insane shots

28 days ago
The Guru
The Guru

My best $10 DIY image stabilization hack is for those AWFUL 'up and down' jerky movements that kill action camera footage even with E.I.S. on. This hack works VERY WELL for that! Unfortunately, it requires some custom assembly. You'll need a small, high quality mirror (the same size as your camera's front face), along with some (black) duct tape. The hard part is getting this assembled properly. Here's a quick explanation/tutorial on how this hack works (I'll make a video about it soon to simplify everything): We start by having our camera positioned downward, so that the lens/view points to the ground. Meaning, your camera is positioned horizontally, with the lens (perpendicular) pointing toward the ground. We then mount the mirror at a 45° angle on the front face of the camera where the lens is. Camera's view remains pointed to the ground at all times, so when you mount the mirror at a 45° angle to the front face of the camera, this creates a front facing horizontal view through the mirror. Understand? I know, it's hard asf to understand in words. Easy to show in a video though. This hack will suppress any jerky 'up and down' movements by 70-100%. This does introduce a new problem with your footage though, it reverses the lettering of words. To fix, just mirror it again in post production. This hack is ideal for rough mountain bicycle paths, or bumpy roads involving motorcycle or dash cam footage, even with E.I.S. on. Your motion video on really bumpy terrain will look amazingly smooth with this DIY hack. Almost too good to be true!

Month ago
PRO GAMER
PRO GAMER

İ need one but i haven't money

Month ago
Jaye Coley
Jaye Coley

Great informative video, particularly for novices

Month ago
QuestionMan
QuestionMan

Did you try any still photography with these gimbals? Do they have bluetooth connections to control the attached device?

Month ago
Amanda
Amanda

I have a case on my phone, Do I have to take it off to be able to use it?

Month ago
razoraresharp
razoraresharp

almost as smooth as a chicken head

Month ago
Fitsum G
Fitsum G

your camera is making a high picth sounds that hurts my ear

Month ago
Sarah E
Sarah E

I wonder if you could just buy the dslr rig and find something that holds your phone with the same attachment... Like a converter in a way

Month ago
CowsRus
CowsRus

I just love gimbals! I can't even explain it, but they just..... well they just.... seem so sexy?! The way they move the camera yet dampen the moment you make, has a real satisfaction to it. In fact, if I was single, I might have bought one for the sole purpose of having sex with it.

Month ago
dineshpasala
dineshpasala

beautifull shots

Month ago
Simon Beeson
Simon Beeson

I have the Zhiyun Smooth C.. it's brilliant! Highly recommended! Ran into another tourist in Singapore with one too and gave each other that knowing look of product satisfaction.

Month ago
Weyfenionz Frames
Weyfenionz Frames

Price ?

Month ago
Alejandro Silvestre
Alejandro Silvestre

Hi Mate, I have a question for you, I am an amateur, but I have a Fujifilm XF1 camera, and I am on a budget .... so any ways, I was wondering if you know if it is possible to use the Smoth Q gimbal or any other cellphone gimbal for a ...let´s say point and shoot camera? (I do know the ideal would be to purchase an specific DSLR gimbal , but for the size and weight of the specific camera I mentioned, do you think it would be feasible? ) thanks a lot, cheers

Month ago
Miền Tây Trong Tôi
Miền Tây Trong Tôi

Like video

Month ago
KVAABS INTERNATIONAL
KVAABS INTERNATIONAL

Excellent and amazing, thought of buying this gimbal..extremely good quality.kvaabs

Month ago
M-cooler
M-cooler

Is it as good as Osmo DJI Mobile?

2 months ago
Egedius Meo
Egedius Meo

Only in my dreams..

2 months ago
Victor Frossard
Victor Frossard

Although this gimbal is stable enough, you can add a BOB Dual Handle to make films more stable~ https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Steadymaker-BOB-Buster-Gimbal-Arm-with-Spring-Dual-Handle-Steadicam-Rig-for-Zhiyun-Gimbal-Crane-2/32898784346.html

2 months ago
Sylvia Escobar
Sylvia Escobar

what are you using to FILM this video?? thank you!

2 months ago
Dennis Avraham
Dennis Avraham

does this video come in a more posh version?

2 months ago
How Channel
How Channel

I love this thing

2 months ago
Victor Pham
Victor Pham

Image in this video is so bright & crystal clear. Amazing.

2 months ago
Nazim Deen
Nazim Deen

Great video What camera did you use to record this footage?

2 months ago
Happy Life English
Happy Life English

I like the new Smooth 4 better, buy it here: https://amzn.to/2M8IJF2

2 months ago
D C
D C

VERY VERY NICE PLACE. I could stay there for the whole life & forgetting Gadgets

2 months ago
Living Walks
Living Walks

Hi there, we've really been enjoying watching this, thanks for the review. We film natural sight and sound walks in cities using gopro hero 6 black and a zhiyun gimbal, and find the combination just right (you can see several films using this combination and also using our camera phone with the gimbal on our page if it's helpful?). Thank you for taking the time to add this helpful video.

2 months ago
C to the J Cops
C to the J Cops

1:38 = Me sneaking out of my room at 2am for snacks

2 months ago
its lucky singh
its lucky singh

Which DSLR Is that ?

2 months ago
ar halimi
ar halimi

hi .. tQ tQ tQ for the honest and fun review. a small query, would the smaller gambal able to fit a slightly larger compact camera maybe, like the Lumix TZ80 or LX10..? again tQ n take care..

2 months ago
Kane Town Beats
Kane Town Beats

Thank you. I might buy this in the fall

3 months ago
Err0r Gaming
Err0r Gaming

1:43 Reminds me of that Mercedes Ad with the hypnotised chicken.

3 months ago
Mike Kojoori
Mike Kojoori

Can a large version of the Gimbal be used for both DSlR and smartphone thereby getting twice the value from the device.

3 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

Yes, I bought one! Feiyutech G6 Plus can work with Gopro ,smartphone and dslr camera ! It worth!

Month ago
training quad
training quad

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PheGubbElZw

3 months ago
Xavier Lnts
Xavier Lnts

wov you are so honest and now I've followed u! Thanks for being so objective in your vids. 👏👍❤

3 months ago
Zichen Wang
Zichen Wang

This video is very interesting. I really want's to buy the XT-2 after watching. Just wonder the lens used?

3 months ago
Sam Gaming
Sam Gaming

The stabilizdr look satisfying when the handle was move around

3 months ago
Mr na
Mr na

Priced way too high as per usual : ZHIYUN CRANE PLUS £569 what a rip off. It's worth no more than £130 it attracts the premium rip off tax because it's got something to do with cameras and thus pricing it out of normal users range and into the hey I'm a semi pro so I can get my money back with one job that these manufacturers thrive on.

3 months ago
TEN10K
TEN10K

Tape your camera to a chicken's head, problem solved

3 months ago
Ismail khan
Ismail khan

Which camera are u using

3 months ago
Andrew Cutts
Andrew Cutts

Thanks for posting this. My nephew uses the smaller one for a GoPro. I'd like one for my Panasonic camcorder.

4 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

Maybe you can try feiyutech a1000, I thought is fine.

Month ago
Twothermal
Twothermal

Great video! Can you make a DIY video of a Gimbal or Steadicam?

4 months ago
Jove Med
Jove Med

The best shot was the last one with u and the yellow stuff in the back haha

4 months ago
Yohanes Adwitiyo
Yohanes Adwitiyo

How about a diy z axis stabilizer?

4 months ago
Sumeyra Bahadir
Sumeyra Bahadir

I need this😍

4 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

do you buy the gimbal yet?

Month ago
Living Walks
Living Walks

We've been uploading quite a few natural sound and sight walkthrough's in the uk, so you can view our gopro and gimbal results. Hope it's helpful? Thanks for your video, we've subscribed.

4 months ago
Lemonstate
Lemonstate

I'm gonna preface this with a note saying that this is meant to be a compliment. You kinda have that _'super sweet and comforting on the outside, maybe a serial killer on the inside'-vibe,_ and you know how much Tumblr and people in general have started taking a fascination with serial killers. Also... *_D I S S E C T M E , D A D D Y_*

4 months ago
DIY Perks
DIY Perks

Holy crap... no idea how that can be a compliment bro. :| No offense taken, but it's an odd thing to think about someone.

4 months ago
Ayan's View
Ayan's View

Can I use it Canon 6d with24-105 lens? pls let me know.

4 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

maybe you can try feiyutech a2000.

Month ago
Jed Woolley
Jed Woolley

Great review. ...but you're butchering the name. Try "zhi" like the "ger" in danger. Then try "yun" like "un" in union.

4 months ago
Atis Sanguansat
Atis Sanguansat

What camera did you use to shoot this video? The picture is super crisp

5 months ago
Aswanth pp
Aswanth pp

കിടുവെയ് 😍

5 months ago
FunPlay
FunPlay

Could you tell me which model of camera are you using in this video?

5 months ago
Asad Ali
Asad Ali

💚

5 months ago
Otávio Cesar
Otávio  Cesar

Dude, what camera did you use?

5 months ago
Chowan Channel
Chowan Channel

Oh Good

5 months ago
Kian Siong
Kian Siong

this is so relaxing

5 months ago
Abdullah Ibn Omor Shahrin
Abdullah Ibn Omor Shahrin

any one plz help me. have there any gimble which is work for mobile & dslr both?

5 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

Feiyutech G6 plus! I have one. Its nice. can work with smartphone,dslr and gopro.(but I don't have gopro, may be have in the furture.)

Month ago
MicLabTv
MicLabTv

Does it work with lumix LX10 ?

5 months ago
Christine'S Vlogs
Christine'S Vlogs

Best Guimbal That i can recomend 100% http://shrink8me.com/41LG , Pleas wait then continue click get link

5 months ago
altar7
altar7

wow that footage of the X-T2 looks great! What lens are you using?

5 months ago
Wade
Wade

Any tips for a Sony Action Gimbal?

5 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

feiyutech G6 or G6 plus.

Month ago
Si Anak Magang
Si Anak Magang

why crane is expensive?

5 months ago
JDOG BirdEye
JDOG BirdEye

what is you recommendation for Panasonic G85M,,,thanks

5 months ago
C Chenille
C Chenille

you can try feiyutech a1000

Month ago
LIONEL YORK
LIONEL YORK

Bonjour, thanks a lot for the content, always interesting! Just a question, do you think we can use the gimball on top(?) of a telescopic fishing rod (for example filming a protest march quite over the people! or inside? a tree) the problem would be a control screen... Thanks again.

6 months ago
Aayush Official
Aayush Official

can you make diy gimbals

6 months ago
pharrrukH
pharrrukH

What camera you used for vlogging in this video????

6 months ago
** **
** **

Hot accent!

6 months ago
Agri Buzz
Agri Buzz

what software are you using for edit this video?

7 months ago
Dorel Oloier
Dorel Oloier

Thanks!Great video!

7 months ago
Ramón Amaya
Ramón Amaya

What lens was used to film this?

7 months ago
John Lewis
John Lewis

Great video...could I use this with my Sony NEX 5R

7 months ago
Saleh Badhafari
Saleh Badhafari

I am planning to by sport camera and gimbal for my next bike touring, what is your advice or the best available camera and gimbal right now?

7 months ago
T j
T j

Loved your Video but please take a little more time to review the products i.e let people like myself know a little more info regarding the items i.e SOFTWARE Apps insight into what one might need or not need to operate the gimbal or product Criticism is healthy so please NO offence & i'm truly looking for a decent Gimbal but with decent Software that goes with it i.e. for example the Tracking using the Smooth Q is pretty poor compared to let's say the DJI Osmo 2 Mobile tracking software app. Otherwise your voice is clear and fully understandable, you sound quite professional speaking plus footage was really clear scuse the pun since your advertising Gimbals lol

7 months ago
John Skiggs
John Skiggs

Great introduction to what for me is a new product :) Looks Brilliant; I didn't even know they existed ?

7 months ago
Lui Mar Gomez
Lui Mar Gomez

what camera you're using during this review?

7 months ago
Soumik Sarker
Soumik Sarker

the ending footage looks very animated..... :P

7 months ago
Annie Basson
Annie Basson

This is so helpful! Have you got any suggestions for something similar but on a much lower budget. I'm a student without a part-time job, I like doing montages (there are examples on my channel) in my montage titled "Camping 2016" it was purely on a camera I borrowed, no tripod, just my shaky hands. In my most recent, "Camping 2017", I did have a tripod by then and also had my first DSLR (Canon 1300D) so the footage was better quality, I loved the shots I could get, however, they were very stationary. I want to pursue making YouTube videos, especially after I finish my A-Levels this summer and have been wanting to get a stabiliser for a while, the only issues are: 1) the price (as I am a student and only have my allowance to go by, I'd prefer to find one under £50, but I plan to work from September, hopefully as I'd finish school by then). 2) the size (I don't want it to be too bulky) and weight of it plus the camera. 3) handling (I've seen the battery powered ones and have heard amazing things about them compared to the weight operated one). I agree with you, as someone who would be filming by myself, something like this would be so helpful. Also, I plan to use something like this whilst travelling and on outings, so something really bulky and obvious/extremely eye-catching, I'd like to avoid. If you (or anyone else) can help, I'd be extremely grateful! Thank you in advance. Annie Xxx

7 months ago
Cash Money Bling
Cash Money Bling

What mic are you using on this video? Is this hooked up to the phone? Thanks.

7 months ago
P.J. John
P.J. John

Easy to operate

8 months ago
P.J. John
P.J. John

Looking good

8 months ago
Arhon Ankhkara
Arhon Ankhkara

Nice video. I use the Smooth Q. Works great. Is there a way to get it to work with a light DSLR such as Canon 200d?

8 months ago
ganesh kumar
ganesh kumar

will it support canon rebel T6i?

8 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

ITS A XT2 CAMERA

8 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

What camera is that 🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔

8 months ago
Kevin Garcia
Kevin Garcia

Does anyone know what camera he is using to record? Amazing video quality. In need of a video camera.

8 months ago
Бхану Аршавин
Бхану Аршавин

good but expensive

8 months ago
Four Stars Media
Four Stars Media

How long do the batteries last? Are they replaceable AA or is the gimbal useless until it recharges? Can the camera one handle smaller video cameras like the Canon XA-10?

8 months ago
bringdastorm
bringdastorm

What kind of camera did you shoot this video on?

8 months ago
Rahul Mamtani
Rahul Mamtani

which lens you are using in fuji camera ?

8 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

Oh ok thanks 🤗

8 months ago
Rahul Mamtani
Rahul Mamtani

NancyGamer442 fujifilm xt20

8 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

Rahul Mamtani do you know what that camera is called🤔🤔

8 months ago
Edesonism
Edesonism

A thumbs up because you got me crackling with your running

8 months ago

Next videos