Camera Gimbals - how good are they? Review of the Zhiyun Crane & Smooth Q

  • Published on Year ago

    DIY PerksDIY Perks

    Runtime: 5:16

    In this video I take a look at two of the best camera stabilizers available - one for smartphones, and the other for full sized cameras.
    ↓↓↓ LINKS BELOW↓↓↓

    Zhiyun Smooth Q (for smartphones): amzn.to/2yu2pcc
    Zhiyun Crane (for larger cameras): amzn.to/2zzm0v7
    UK Buyers: cvp.com/index.php?t=product/zhiyun-tech_crane-gimbal
    No idea how to pronounce the brand name properly by the way... some say Zi-on, others say Zin-yun, and still others say Schzi-un. Not very good for brand recognition if no one knows how to pronounce it.

    Disclosure: The Zhiyun Crane was sent to me by Gear Best (thanks guys!) and the Zhiyun Smooth Q was sent to me directly by the manufacturer (Zhiyun). Not uncommon for reviewers to have free 'review samples' and I didn't let it alter my opinions.

    camera  gimbal  zhiyun  crane  smooth q  stabilizer  smartphone  dslr  lens  steadicam  

KVAABS AD & K E Park
KVAABS AD & K E Park

Excellent and amazing, thought of buying this gimbal..extremely good quality.kvaabs

9 hours ago
M-cooler
M-cooler

Is it as good as Osmo DJI Mobile?

Day ago
Egedius Meo
Egedius Meo

Only in my dreams..

3 days ago
Victor Frossard
Victor Frossard

Although this gimbal is stable enough, you can add a BOB Dual Handle to make films more stable~ https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Steadymaker-BOB-Buster-Gimbal-Arm-with-Spring-Dual-Handle-Steadicam-Rig-for-Zhiyun-Gimbal-Crane-2/32898784346.html

3 days ago
Sylvia Escobar
Sylvia Escobar

what are you using to FILM this video?? thank you!

5 days ago
Dennis Avraham
Dennis Avraham

does this video come in a more posh version?

7 days ago
How Channel
How Channel

I love this thing

8 days ago
Victor Pham
Victor Pham

Image in this video is so bright & crystal clear. Amazing.

11 days ago
Nazim Deen
Nazim Deen

Great video What camera did you use to record this footage?

12 days ago
Happy Life English
Happy Life English

I like the new Smooth 4 better, buy it here: https://amzn.to/2M8IJF2

13 days ago
D C
D C

VERY VERY NICE PLACE. I could stay there for the whole life & forgetting Gadgets

13 days ago
Living Walks
Living Walks

Hi there, we've really been enjoying watching this, thanks for the review. We film natural sight and sound walks in cities using gopro hero 6 black and a zhiyun gimbal, and find the combination just right (you can see several films using this combination and also using our camera phone with the gimbal on our page if it's helpful?). Thank you for taking the time to add this helpful video.

17 days ago
C to the J Cops
C to the J Cops

1:38 = Me sneaking out of my room at 2am for snacks

18 days ago
its lucky singh
its lucky singh

Which DSLR Is that ?

22 days ago
ar halimi
ar halimi

hi .. tQ tQ tQ for the honest and fun review. a small query, would the smaller gambal able to fit a slightly larger compact camera maybe, like the Lumix TZ80 or LX10..? again tQ n take care..

26 days ago
Kane Town Beats
Kane Town Beats

Thank you. I might buy this in the fall

Month ago
BlackBeard ™
BlackBeard ™

1:43 Reminds me of that Mercedes Ad with the hypnotised chicken.

Month ago
Mike Kojoori
Mike Kojoori

Can a large version of the Gimbal be used for both DSlR and smartphone thereby getting twice the value from the device.

Month ago
training quad
training quad

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PheGubbElZw

Month ago
Berkay Yıldırım
Berkay Yıldırım

wov you are so honest and now I've followed u! Thanks for being so objective in your vids. 👏👍❤

Month ago
Zichen Wang
Zichen Wang

This video is very interesting. I really want's to buy the XT-2 after watching. Just wonder the lens used?

Month ago
Sam Gaming
Sam Gaming

The stabilizdr look satisfying when the handle was move around

Month ago
Mr na
Mr na

Priced way too high as per usual : ZHIYUN CRANE PLUS £569 what a rip off. It's worth no more than £130 it attracts the premium rip off tax because it's got something to do with cameras and thus pricing it out of normal users range and into the hey I'm a semi pro so I can get my money back with one job that these manufacturers thrive on.

Month ago
TEN10K
TEN10K

Tape your camera to a chicken's head, problem solved

Month ago
Ismail khan
Ismail khan

Which camera are u using

Month ago
Andrew Cutts
Andrew Cutts

Thanks for posting this. My nephew uses the smaller one for a GoPro. I'd like one for my Panasonic camcorder.

2 months ago
Twothermal
Twothermal

Great video! Can you make a DIY video of a Gimbal or Steadicam?

2 months ago
Jove Med
Jove Med

The best shot was the last one with u and the yellow stuff in the back haha

2 months ago
Yohanes Adwitiyo
Yohanes Adwitiyo

How about a diy z axis stabilizer?

2 months ago
Sumeyra Bahadir
Sumeyra Bahadir

I need this😍

2 months ago
Living Walks
Living Walks

We've been uploading quite a few natural sound and sight walkthrough's in the uk, so you can view our gopro and gimbal results. Hope it's helpful? Thanks for your video, we've subscribed.

2 months ago
Lemonstate
Lemonstate

I'm gonna preface this with a note saying that this is meant to be a compliment. You kinda have that _'super sweet and comforting on the outside, maybe a serial killer on the inside'-vibe,_ and you know how much Tumblr and people in general have started taking a fascination with serial killers. Also... *_D I S S E C T M E , D A D D Y_*

2 months ago
DIY Perks
DIY Perks

Holy crap... no idea how that can be a compliment bro. :| No offense taken, but it's an odd thing to think about someone.

2 months ago
Ayan's View
Ayan's View

Can I use it Canon 6d with24-105 lens? pls let me know.

2 months ago
Jed Woolley
Jed Woolley

Great review. ...but you're butchering the name. Try "zhi" like the "ger" in danger. Then try "yun" like "un" in union.

2 months ago
Atis Sanguansat
Atis Sanguansat

What camera did you use to shoot this video? The picture is super crisp

3 months ago
Aswanth pp
Aswanth pp

കിടുവെയ് 😍

3 months ago
FunPlay
FunPlay

Could you tell me which model of camera are you using in this video?

3 months ago
Asad Ali
Asad Ali

💚

3 months ago
Otávio Cesar
Otávio  Cesar

Dude, what camera did you use?

3 months ago
Chowan Channel
Chowan Channel

Oh Good

3 months ago
Kian Siong
Kian Siong

this is so relaxing

3 months ago
Abdullah Ibn Omor Shahrin
Abdullah Ibn Omor Shahrin

any one plz help me. have there any gimble which is work for mobile & dslr both?

3 months ago
MicLabTv
MicLabTv

Does it work with lumix LX10 ?

3 months ago
Christine'S Vlogs
Christine'S Vlogs

Best Guimbal That i can recomend 100% http://shrink8me.com/41LG , Pleas wait then continue click get link

3 months ago
altar7
altar7

wow that footage of the X-T2 looks great! What lens are you using?

3 months ago
Wade
Wade

Any tips for a Sony Action Gimbal?

3 months ago
Si Anak Magang
Si Anak Magang

why crane is expensive?

3 months ago
JDOG BirdEye
JDOG BirdEye

what is you recommendation for Panasonic G85M,,,thanks

3 months ago
LIONEL YORK
LIONEL YORK

Bonjour, thanks a lot for the content, always interesting! Just a question, do you think we can use the gimball on top(?) of a telescopic fishing rod (for example filming a protest march quite over the people! or inside? a tree) the problem would be a control screen... Thanks again.

4 months ago
Aayush Official
Aayush Official

can you make diy gimbals

4 months ago
pharrrukH
pharrrukH

What camera you used for vlogging in this video????

4 months ago
** **
** **

Hot accent!

4 months ago
Agribuzz
Agribuzz

what software are you using for edit this video?

5 months ago
Dorel Oloier
Dorel Oloier

Thanks!Great video!

5 months ago
Ramón Amaya
Ramón Amaya

What lens was used to film this?

5 months ago
John Lewis
John Lewis

Great video...could I use this with my Sony NEX 5R

5 months ago
Saleh Badhafari
Saleh Badhafari

I am planning to by sport camera and gimbal for my next bike touring, what is your advice or the best available camera and gimbal right now?

5 months ago
T j
T j

Loved your Video but please take a little more time to review the products i.e let people like myself know a little more info regarding the items i.e SOFTWARE Apps insight into what one might need or not need to operate the gimbal or product Criticism is healthy so please NO offence & i'm truly looking for a decent Gimbal but with decent Software that goes with it i.e. for example the Tracking using the Smooth Q is pretty poor compared to let's say the DJI Osmo 2 Mobile tracking software app. Otherwise your voice is clear and fully understandable, you sound quite professional speaking plus footage was really clear scuse the pun since your advertising Gimbals lol

5 months ago
John Skiggs
John Skiggs

Great introduction to what for me is a new product :) Looks Brilliant; I didn't even know they existed ?

5 months ago
Lui Mar Gomez
Lui Mar Gomez

what camera you're using during this review?

5 months ago
Soumik Sarker
Soumik Sarker

the ending footage looks very animated..... :P

5 months ago
Annie Basson
Annie Basson

This is so helpful! Have you got any suggestions for something similar but on a much lower budget. I'm a student without a part-time job, I like doing montages (there are examples on my channel) in my montage titled "Camping 2016" it was purely on a camera I borrowed, no tripod, just my shaky hands. In my most recent, "Camping 2017", I did have a tripod by then and also had my first DSLR (Canon 1300D) so the footage was better quality, I loved the shots I could get, however, they were very stationary. I want to pursue making YouTube videos, especially after I finish my A-Levels this summer and have been wanting to get a stabiliser for a while, the only issues are: 1) the price (as I am a student and only have my allowance to go by, I'd prefer to find one under £50, but I plan to work from September, hopefully as I'd finish school by then). 2) the size (I don't want it to be too bulky) and weight of it plus the camera. 3) handling (I've seen the battery powered ones and have heard amazing things about them compared to the weight operated one). I agree with you, as someone who would be filming by myself, something like this would be so helpful. Also, I plan to use something like this whilst travelling and on outings, so something really bulky and obvious/extremely eye-catching, I'd like to avoid. If you (or anyone else) can help, I'd be extremely grateful! Thank you in advance. Annie Xxx

5 months ago
Cash Money Bling
Cash Money Bling

What mic are you using on this video? Is this hooked up to the phone? Thanks.

5 months ago
P.J. John
P.J. John

Easy to operate

6 months ago
P.J. John
P.J. John

Looking good

6 months ago
Arhon Ankhkara
Arhon Ankhkara

Nice video. I use the Smooth Q. Works great. Is there a way to get it to work with a light DSLR such as Canon 200d?

6 months ago
ganesh kumar
ganesh kumar

will it support canon rebel T6i?

6 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

ITS A XT2 CAMERA

6 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

What camera is that 🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔

6 months ago
Kevin Garcia
Kevin Garcia

Does anyone know what camera he is using to record? Amazing video quality. In need of a video camera.

6 months ago
Бхану Аршавин
Бхану Аршавин

good but expensive

6 months ago
Four Stars Media
Four Stars Media

How long do the batteries last? Are they replaceable AA or is the gimbal useless until it recharges? Can the camera one handle smaller video cameras like the Canon XA-10?

6 months ago
bringdastorm
bringdastorm

What kind of camera did you shoot this video on?

6 months ago
Rahul Mamtani
Rahul Mamtani

which lens you are using in fuji camera ?

6 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

Oh ok thanks 🤗

6 months ago
Rahul Mamtani
Rahul Mamtani

NancyGamer442 fujifilm xt20

6 months ago
NancyGamer442
NancyGamer442

Rahul Mamtani do you know what that camera is called🤔🤔

6 months ago
Edesonism
Edesonism

A thumbs up because you got me crackling with your running

6 months ago
The DIY Crab
The DIY Crab

I need one of these!

7 months ago
Cat M.
Cat M.

Thanks a lot for this video. Very complete!

7 months ago
venom5809
venom5809

Holy shit your video quality is godlike.

7 months ago
Deny Saputra
Deny Saputra

7 months ago
Jefferson Vidal
Jefferson Vidal

Can you record a video teaching how to make a 3-axis stabilizer for home smartphone? It is possible with cheap parts or that we can have at home, to spend as little as possible. Congratulations on the channel, and thank you! Hugs

7 months ago
Sovers
Sovers

The color correction looks awesome

7 months ago
Dine Suth1
Dine Suth1

It's been a long time seen you. However, Your uploads are great. Keep it up

7 months ago
msza
msza

Please what is the name of the lens with x-t2

7 months ago
youtube live studio
youtube live studio

bhv

7 months ago
zepp3lin
zepp3lin

Any motor noise issue with this gimbal, meaning the camera picks up the motor noise Especially with Go Pro.

7 months ago
Mikasa Lin
Mikasa Lin

http://a.co/08IpRDV

7 months ago
Suri S P
Suri S P

Can the gimbal for camera attached to normal tripod?

8 months ago
Project Ambition
Project Ambition

what camera is he using?

8 months ago
Davide Berti
Davide Berti

which camera have you used for the generic video?

8 months ago
Subham Majumdar
Subham Majumdar

which camer are you using for the footage videos ?

8 months ago
Uncontrollable Love
Uncontrollable Love

if someone send you DJI Osmo please review it, I know this Smooth Q is $140 but now that DJI Osmo price has been lingering around $200 is it worth shelling out $60 bucks more to get more reliable product? I read reviews of Zhiyun smooth app and 2 out of 4 people cant get it to behave properly or having issues with app freezing etc. Thanks

8 months ago
zijdezacht
zijdezacht

can you use the zhiyun stabiliser for digital cameras? i have a sony WX500 and wondering which stabliser(s) would be compatible for this design. thanks :)

8 months ago
TheDeansUK
TheDeansUK

Good review, do you know if the Smooth Q will work with a G7X ? I'm thinking it would be light enough.

8 months ago
rijan dahal
rijan dahal

TheDeansUK this thing is designed to hold upto 250 or 300 gm and i guess G7x weighes over 500 gm

8 months ago
Planet of MiRaj
Planet of MiRaj

Can you please tell me Amazing Review. Can you please tell me Which Camera You USed For making This video?

8 months ago
Erin
Erin

hello thank you so much for sharing!!! i wonder what camera are you using cause the quality of your video is amazing!

8 months ago
Farhad Zamani
Farhad Zamani

hi can you tell me where is that lake location you just filming thank you :)

9 months ago
Chiraq God all seing
Chiraq God all seing

plz what camera is that ?

9 months ago
Rainbow Llamas
Rainbow Llamas

1:38 Marching band had me like

9 months ago
daveslow84
daveslow84

The smooth q also fits GoPro and other action cams. Simply rotate into portrait mode, fit GoPro, if doing any action sports put a couple rubber bands around it in case you crash, triple tap for selfie mode and voila... GoPro is pointing away from you and no gimbal parts are visible in the footage!

9 months ago
v1m30
v1m30

What an insane pricing.

9 months ago

Next videos